top of page

Reflections and Aspirations



The end of December/beginning of January is a perfect time to not just reflect on the year that has passed, but to also plan ahead.


This oft quoted extract from Steve Jobs’ 2005 commencement speech at Stanford University seems apt while reflecting on accomplishments, disappointments and aspirations. "Again, you can't connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something - your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever."


Throughout my time in education, I have at the start of each academic year been asked to write SMART goals (Specific, Measurable, Achievable/Attainable, Realistic/Relevant, Timely) and then asked to evaluate/reflect upon them accordingly towards the end of the school year. Recently, a friend referenced SMARTER goals whereby the “E” and “R” respectively stand for “Evaluated on a regular basis” and “Recognized/Rewarded when achieved or Revisited when not.” I especially like the way the concept of “yet” (as espoused by Dr. Carol Dweck, see September 2018’s Mindset blogpost) is evident in the phrase “revisited when not”.


Aside from goal setting mandated by employers at the start of each academic year, I find that this time of year is optimal for a reset on goals which pertain to life in general (often termed as New Year’s Resolutions) as well as those relating to work, but are not part of the official evaluation process.


I am mindful that John Dewey’s quote, "We do not learn from experience... we learn from reflecting on experience” is most apt when reflecting on and taking stock of that which occurred (or perhaps did not) in the previous year.


With regard to my rôle as Head of Admissions, I have much to be proud of:


  • I head a team which works well together and strives to ensure a personalized and smooth process for all prospective families from initial enquiry to enrollment and beyond. It is evident (based on verbal comments, emails we receive and survey results) that we make meaningful connections with prospective families and that they are appreciative of the support we offer throughout. Recently received examples include: “A very special thank you for all you do for our family - for C. and F. last year and now for our little C. You make the way to admission smooth, clever and happy - which is not the case in every school ;)”. “For all the visiting, interviews and assessments at the M'KIS International School, as well as your professional introduction and warmly reception, have left a deep impression on my whole family. We would like to express my heartfelt thanks!”.

  • Throughout the year, we reflect on how we can optimize the admissions process (especially important as, here in KL, we are in a very competitive market). We have made subtle changes to the process so as to be even more efficient in terms of moving families through the admissions process quickly and smoothly. Most notably, I have reviewed and updated our application paperwork so as to ensure it is both user friendly and succinct. I looked at application forms from a wide range of schools around the world (a fascinating process in itself!), drafted new forms, and shared them with appropriate members of our school community. We will - as of January 2019 - be using these new and improved forms and will, of course, reflect and tweak them as necessary over the next few months. In addition, we will once again look at the possibility of an online process which - due to reasons beyond our control - was put on hold earlier this year.

Beyond my rôle as Head of Admissions, I am proud that:


  • I successfully liaised with Hils Learning, a local agency for our annual on-site weekend workshop collaboration with regard to bringing world-renowned experts to KL. We are already in discussion for our fourth collaboration and perhaps (fingers crossed) another event, too, for next year.

  • Subsequent to Dr. Joyce Mills’ weekend workshop in October 2018, I submitted an article to The International Educator (TIE) which was published in December 2018. Despite writing sometimes taking longer than I would like (thanks to me being both somewhat of a perfectionist and a wordsmith), I do enjoy the writing process and sharing observations/thoughts. I aspire to do more writing in the future.

Outside of school, but education related:


  • I am especially proud of my blog. Having made the commitment to posting on a weekly basis, I feel I have made growth - when comparing early posts with more recent ones - in terms of quality of the posts, content, use of images etc.,. I have appreciated feedback (both positive and constructive) from friends and colleagues as well as the compliment of having posts retweeted/shared on Linkedin.

  • I focus my posts on areas of particular interest including, but not limited to, Admissions, Leadership, Learning Differently, School Culture, Social Justice, and Third Culture Kids (TCK). I am increasingly aware that my ideas for posts centre on wellbeing and wonder if this an avenue for further consideration in the future.



In thinking ahead, I draw upon Maya Angelou's quote and thus have the following goals for 2019:







* Continue to work on a healthy work-life balance (especially mindful of some suggestions outlined in Tonya Gilchrist's Stop Glorifying Busy post).

* Write and submit articles to Education magazines.

* Continue to analyze how we can optimize the admissions process.

* Continue to engage in professional development:

As we say goodbye to 2018 and welcome to 2019, I invite you to ... "Stay patient and trust your journey."


  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
bottom of page