top of page

Reading


I love the irony of this image recently posted on Facebook. I also - from a linguistic perspective - appreciate the fact (perhaps even irony?) that by adding two letters to the word “obvious” takes us to the direct opposite: “oblivious”.


I appreciate this short video, Professor Michael Rosen on reading for pleasure (May 2019), for highlighting the benefits (academic, empathy and more) of reading for pleasure. The Christina DesMarais’ recent article in Inc.com, Why Reading Books Should Be Your Priority, According to Science, reiterates some key points from Rachel Grate’s 2014 article, Science Has Great News for People Who Read Actual Books. Much like Professor Michael Rosen, there is - in developing a love for reading - a focus beyond simply knowledge garnered, but additional benefits such as being more open-minded and creative, living longer, stress reduction and improved sleep.


In January this year, on a post entitled Love of Reading, I posted the following, “I yearn for those long, lazy summer days ensconced in a reclining chair with a good book or two and the occasional nap thrown in for good measure.”





I have to say, now that summer vacation is upon us, I am enjoying having the time to read both 'real books' (here’s a snapshot of some of the books I have in my reading pile this summer) and on my Kindle. What’s on your reading list?

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
bottom of page