top of page

#280 End of 2023 Reflection



As an educator working on the Northern Hemisphere schedule, it always feels as if there are two opportune times to reflect:


(i) at the end of the school year in June or July and

(ii) then (as so many do) at the end of the year. 


I am especially grateful for so many experiences and opportunities to grow over this last year (some of which were previously shared in my  July 2023 End of Year Reflection post).


In looking back, missing the first few days (the first time I have not been on campus for the first day of the school year) due to Covid was not the start I was looking for.

 

I have - in returning to my roots as a Learning Support teacher this school year - been reminded of how this position provides the best ongoing Professional Development opportunities. 


Whilst the constant change of focus (in terms of students, grade level, individual needs) and (in my current school) physical location changes every 45 minutes, can be challenging, there are numerous advantages too. 


I contend that each and every day I have the overwhelming privilege to see my colleagues in Kindergarten to Grade Three classes practice their craft in ways which are creative and compassionate. Throughout the day each and every day, they embed multiple opportunities (amongst many other components) for curiosity, critical thinking and communication by facilitating opportunities for students to have agency and take action through authentic learning experiences. 


In addition to the ongoing daily observations of colleagues and formal and informal conversations pertaining to individual students, practice, strategies and resources, I am also very grateful for the formal PD opportunities thus far this school year. These include: 


  • The ongoing weekly Mastermind sessions with Better Leaders Better Schools. I found great value in Jerry Colonna's Reboot Leadership and The Art of Growing Up (our August - October text) and Liz Fosslien and Mollie West Duffy's No Hard Feelings (our current text).

  • Kath Murdoch's on site sessions which included observing her provoking the thinking of our Grade One students as part of the launch of their Unit of Inquiry as well as educator focussed sessions pertaining to inquiry and the cycle thereof were invaluable.

  • The ISS Identity Matters: Fostering Inclusive Learning Environments PD entailing three sessions focussing on (i) Translanguage Assessments, (ii) Culturally Responsive Teaching and (iii) Identity-Centered Learning: Integrating Identity Development Throughout were well paced and though provoking.


Akin to Janus (after whom the month of January is named), I find myself looking both backwards and forwards.


I have enjoyed (with some struggles along the way) a year with many opportunities for growth. I look forward to the rest of the 2023/2024 school year and beyond and am optimistic to see what further opportunities will - as I continue to lean in and expand my practice - prevail.


  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
bottom of page