top of page

#252 💚

On my wall here in Paris, I have - just like I did in Kuala Lumpur - a picture which acts as a gentle reminder to me about the impact our words and actions can have.


Whilst I have done this activity individually with students, with whole classes of students or across grade levels in primary schools, I am aware that it may also be done with older students and faculty within our school communities.

 

Step 1 - take a piece of paper.

Step 2 - draw a heart.

Step 3 - colour the heart and make it as beautiful as possible.


… The first three steps are easy.


Step 4 - take the beautiful image and gently make it into a snowball, pack it tight.

Step 5 - take your paper and make it as flat as you possibly can.


… The final two steps are challenging.


 

This activity serves as a great reminder that despite our best efforts, it is not possible to make the paper heart as beautiful as it initially was.


My purpose in sharing this activity is to draw attention to the fact that despite our best intentions, misjudged words and actions can have a huge impact on our relationships and school culture and may have long lasting repercussions.




Comments


  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
bottom of page