top of page

Good Hope



I have always enjoyed the art of writing. As an elementary classroom teacher, I loved teaching writing (and especially creative writing) to my students; this is one of the things I most miss now that I am no longer based in the classroom. Whilst a large portion of my day involves writing, it is admittedly expository, rather than creative in nature.


I am mindful that despite being a wordsmith, sometimes one’s thoughts and aspirations are best expressed through someone else’s words (be it a saying, a song, a poem or one of many other ways of expressing oneself).


I appreciate that despite being simple in terms of format, concept, word choice, Benjamin Zephaniah’s poem, Good Hope, clearly expresses hope and belief in making our world better for all.



Good Hope


I believe

There is enough food

On this planet

For everyone.

I believe

That it is possible

For all people

To live in peace.

I believe

We can live

Without guns,

I believe everyone

Is important.

I believe there are good

Christians

And good Muslims,

Good Jews

And good not sures.

I believe

There is good in everyone.

I believe in people.

If I did not believe

I would stop writing.

I know

Every day

Children cry for water,

And every day

Racists attack.

Still every day

Children play

With no care for colour.

So I believe there is hope

And I hope

That there are many believers

Believing

There is hope.

That is what I hope

And this is what I believe.

I believe in you,

Believe me


Comments


  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
bottom of page