top of page

What do I need personally and professionally so I can be my best self all the time?


This is a question, I keep utmost in mind throughout the school year ... be it when the anticipation of the new academic year is ever present, during October, November, and December when everything feels so uncertain with recruiting session being in earnest, or when the end of the year is in sight and the bittersweet feelings that come with knowing the long vacation is on the horizon and hard goodbyes are yet to come.


For me, Benjamin Zephaniah’s poem, Good Hope, grounds me. Despite being simplistic in terms of structure and word choice, it focuses on international and intercultural understanding by promoting the core values of celebration of difference, personal responsibility and integrity, mutual responsibility and respect, respect for the environment, a sense of idealism, personal challenge, and thus resonates with me as an educator, as a parent, and - most importantly - as a citizen of the world.


Quotes can do much to uplift, inspire, motivate or even crystalize a belief or a philosophy. As such I appreciate the values.com quotes which are selected to focus on commonalities and transcend differences. Without wanting to sound too hippy, I also love the gentle reminders evident in Be a reflection of what you'd like to receive as well as The Five Simple Rules for Happiness.




With regard to leadership, a quote particularly close to my heart is that of Simon Sinek, “Leadership is not about being in charge. Leadership is about taking care of those in your charge."


As a lifelong learner, I value being exposed to and having ideas challenged and subsequently expanded through dialogue and collaboration as well as having the time to reflect on professional learning and personal growth. Schools are amazingly complex. While there is much to celebrate, it is evident there are always challenges with which to contend. It is for this very reason that I appreciate William D. Parker, in his post entitled Remembering Apollo 13: Overcoming the Insurmountable, putting forth three tips for managing challenges: (i) be a part of the solution, (ii) stay unified and focused, and (iii) celebrate the positive.


In response to the question posed at the start, I benefit from reminding myself of the four reminders in this article. With regard to continued growth, I appreciate these ten essential questions for when feeling entrenched and needing to reevaluate.


Finally, I love this simple list (unfortunately I don’t recall where it came from) of wise words.


1. Don't compare yourself to anyone else.

2. Trust your instincts.

3. Raise your standards.

4. Be the first to forgive.

5. Drink more water.

6. Appreciate the journey as much as the destination.

7. Smile at strangers.

8. Do something unexpected and sweet for a loved one.

9. Find a form of exercise you love — and do it!

10. Lighten up. Laugh at yourself more. Oscar Wilde said, "Life is far too important to be taken seriously."

11. Try new things. And be gentle with yourself during the learning process.

12. Love more, and without expectation.

13. Ask what you can give instead of what you can get.

14. Stop worrying. Instead, turn to faith and believe everything will work out.

15. Say yes.

16. Become friends with yourself.

17. Go outside.

18. Speak kindly to yourself.

19. Be happy for the success of others, and act like it. It takes nothing away from you.

20. Stop trying so hard. Just be. You are enough exactly as you are.

In response to the question, "What do I need personally and professionally so I can be my best self all the time?", I endeavour to live by the wise words, quotes, and philosophy listed above.

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
bottom of page