top of page

Gratitude



We show empathy, compassion and respect. We have a commitment to service, and we act to make a positive difference in the lives of others and in the world around us.” is how caring, one of the ten attributes of the IB Learner Profile, is defined. Thus with today being Thanksgiving in the United States, it seems apt to share this Cicero quote.



I truly believe in the importance of gratitude as a daily practice. Research (some of which is included in the November 2015 New York Times article, Choose to Be Grateful. It Will Make You Happier) shows that increased gratitude not only benefits the one expressing gratitude and the one to whom gratitude is expressed, but society overall.


Of the multiple examples of how to develop a culture of gratitude in schools, these are a few of my favourite ones:



The lines, “A life well lived is one of gratitude and thankfulness.” and “... Psychologists talk about how gratitude is about taking a moment and holding on to it as long as possible. And slowing down time. So that life doesn't go by in one big blur, as it often does…” resonate. The first is taken from a succinct article entitled 8 Ways To Have More Gratitude Every Day and the second from AJ Jacobs’ TED Talk, My journey to thank all the people responsible for my morning coffee.

Mindful of the benefits of making a gratitude list, here is mine:


I am grateful for … ... the support of my family (they challenge my thinking, make me laugh, listen to my crazy ideas, help me when I am frustrated, hold me to high standards).


friends near and far who support me both personally and professionally who - as with family - challenge my thinking, make me laugh, listen to my crazy ideas, help me when I struggle, hold me to high standards, accept me for whom I am.

... my colleagues who implement best practice, are willing to go above and beyond, have student's best interest at heart, differentiate so as to meet individual student's academic and social-emotional needs.


my mentors who have supported and encouraged me accordingly by questioning my thinking and encouraging me to explore/discuss options, and continue to support and encourage me.


... the privileges I am afforded based on factors both within and beyond my control (being born in a country where education was valued, being literate, being in a country where university tuition fees did not exist, having more than one passport enabling freedom to travel to 95% of the world’s countries very easily).


... being in a “good place” whereby I can earn enough to support favourite charities/social justice causes, live well, save “for a rainy day” as well as for my daughter’s college days, and explore the world

... the gift of literacy - to be able to read for pleasure and/or to expand professional knowledge.


the opportunity to connect with and meet with people from various cultures on a daily basis.


the opportunity to learn something new every day.


... wise words, adages, and quotes.


~ Dietrich Bonhoeffer

~ Buddha ~ "As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them." ~ John F. Kennedy ~ “The roots of all goodness lie in the soil of appreciation for goodness.”

~ Dalai Lama ~ “Ask yourself: Have you been kind today? Make kindness your modus operandi and change your world” ~ Annie Lennox ~ "Gratitude is the memory of the heart."


~ "Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.”

~ Oprah Winfrey


~ "Gratitude is the world’s most beautiful language and the most genuine way for people to interact. Gratitude is a beautiful language."

~ Master Cheng Yen.


~ “Gratitude is the healthiest of all human emotions. The more you express gratitude for what you have, the more likely you will have even more to express gratitude for.”

~ Zig Ziglar


How do you, whether at Thanksgiving or other times in the year, show gratitude to those in your life?


  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey
bottom of page